George Otsuka Quintet - Sea Breeze

Format: LP
Availability: Out of stock



Sea Breeze, released in 1971 on the Union label, is his first record in quintet formation and is reissued here on a single LP housed in a gatefold sleeve. And we can say that George Otsuka knew how to surround himself: Shunzo Ohno is on trumpet and Flugelhorn, Takao Uematsu on tenor sax and soprano, Takashi Mizuhashi on bass and Hideo Ichikawa on electric piano.

If all the tracks on this album are solid, included the astonishing cover of "Fool on the Hill", it is especially "Sea Breeze", the eponymous track opening the album that will make an impression. A super and long jazz-funk track where the five musicians, in perfect osmosis, leave each other enough space to express the full extent of their talent.

Recent copies of the original vinyl, which was only released in Japan, have sold for £200-300.

0 stars based on 0 reviews
Please accept cookies to help us improve this website Is this OK? Yes No More on cookies »