Funkproof - The Revival

Format: LP
Availability: PRE-ORDER



Funkproof was formed in 1972 and was comprised of players from Brenton Wood’s United Soul Association and The Merry Clayton band. Semper produced the recordings himself and he’s handling the Hammond B3, keys, Sax and lead vocals. Original members Al McKay (Earth Wind and Fire) and Robert Roselle were later replaced by Richard Cavasos on guitar, Nathaniel “Basey” Johnson (Charles Wright & The Watts 103rd St Rhythm Band) on bass and Ernest Ray “Brother Puff” Johnson (The Ghetto, Hot Ice) completing the lineup on drums. Funkproof completed a full-length album (slated for release by MGM) that was never issued (because MGM was acquired by Polydor) until now! Tidal Waves Music present to you this unreleased hidden funk gem, completely remastered and its history revived, straight from The George Semper Music Archives vaults. Every track on this remarkable album delivers a consistently funky and soulful groove! Pitched between Chitlin’ circuit grit and electronic exploration, Funkproof conveys a timeless message of love, life, and happiness through urban music culture.

0 stars based on 0 reviews
Please accept cookies to help us improve this website Is this OK? Yes No More on cookies »